Mealtime Monday – Mini Cheesecakes!

Pumpkin, Apple Crumble and Cheesecake. YUM

Thanksgiving is a time of love and laughter…and most of all delicious food.  But after ALL that delicious food, you want to experience the sweet, sweet taste of autumn desserts.  Now, I don’t know about you, but I want it all… apple pie, pumpkin pie, cheesecake, you name it, it’s on my plate.  That’s a LOT of food.  That’s the beauty of mini cheesecakes!  All the taste, packed in a little cupcake liner of deliciousness.

PLAIN MINI CHEESECAKE RECIPE

Mini-Cheesecake-33g

3 8 oz packages of cream cheese

1 cup of sugar

3 eggs

1 package of cookies for the crust (I used Dare Cinnamon Danish cookies! MMMM)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350.  Blend softened cream cheese and sugar together until smooth.  Blend eggs in one at a time until smooth.  Mix in vanilla extract and nutmeg.  Line muffin tin with cupcake liners and press a cookie into the bottom of each one.  Pour cream cheese mixture into the cups until they are all about 2/3 full.  Bake for about 20-30 minutes.  Remove from oven and refrigerate for at least 3 hours before serving.  Makes 24.

IMG_7496-500x375

So I did this, and then I made 12 plain cheesecakes and after they were in the oven I added about 1/2 cup of pumpkin puree, about 1 Tbsp of maple syrup, 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, and 1/8 tsp ginger and blended the cream cheese again and poured the new pumpkin cheesecake mix into the remaining 12 cups.  Once they were all done I mixed up 1/2 cup flour, 1/4 brown sugar, 1 chopped up granny smith apple, 1/4 cup quick rolled oats, lemon juice, 1/2 tsp cinnamon and poured 1/4 cup melted butter over it.  Then I mixed it all up and topped the plain cheesecakes with my apple crumble mixture and BLOW TORCHED IT.  Seriously, with a creme brulee blow torch…and then some more cinnamon sugar sprinkled over for added deliciousness!

Three flavours.  One dish.  Today I have to make them again for a second thanksgiving celebration, and this time I’m going to try Chai flavour!  Wish me luck!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

