Health & Fitness Friday – 4 Hour Body

And the reviews are in!

This week I’m reviewing the methods practiced in the popular book from The New York Times best selling author Timothy Ferriss.  The book is called “The 4 – Hour Body”, and it basically has tips/lessons to achieve these goals:

  • book_large-frontHow to prevent fat gain while bingeing (X-mas, holidays, weekends)
  • How to increase fat-loss 300% with a few bags of ice
  • How Tim gained 34 pounds of muscle in 28 days, without steroids, and in four hours of total gym time
  • How to sleep 2 hours per day and feel fully rested
  • How to produce 15-minute female orgasms
  • How to triple testosterone and double sperm count
  • How to go from running 5 kilometers to 50 kilometers in 12 weeks
  • How to reverse “permanent” injuries
  • How to add 150+ pounds to your lifts in 6 months

And that’s not all, there are more than 50 topics covered, all with tested experiments, many including more than 200 test subjects.  There is a TON of science in this book, but the beauty is, it’s designed so that you only have to read certain parts to achieve your goals.

HEALTH

I tried “The Slow-Carb Diet” in the book.  Basically you can only eat protein, legumes meals1-560x420(beans), and vegetables.  No fruit, no dairy, no grains.  Oh yeah, and red wine is encouraged…so that’s awesome.  The idea is, you follow this 6 days a week, and then you have one binge day, but you have to do certain exercises throughout the day.  Actually, after following the meal plan I lost 8 lbs in 5 days.  But I was definitely getting sick of legumes…I hate the texture of red kidney beans.  After going a whole week, including a binge day, I lost 4.5 lbs and 4 inches total…kind of crazy, but I was really sick of the legumes.  I would do this again, but find a substitute for the beans I was using.  The one thing I find really difficult about this is the “no fruit” rule.  I LOVE fruit.

FITNESS

On this diet you have 3 exercises you are to perform 3 times a week, so for simplicity, kettlebellslet’s say Monday, Wednesday, Friday.  All you have to do are 20 Glute Raises (on your back, knees bent, squeeze your butt and lift your pelvis, digging your heels into the floor), 15 Flying Dogs on each side (on your hands and knees, reach out one arm and opposite leg at the same time), and 50 Kettlebell swings (feet hip width apart, kettlebell in both hands, bend from the hips and swinging arms up to about chest level).  Pretty easy stuff…especially for those of us who hate cardio (hollaaaa).

Honestly, after writing this blog, I want to try this diet/workout combo again, and see what results I will get being 20 lbs lighter this time (I’ve lost about 35 lbs since Christmas of last year, hoping to make it 50 lbs in one year by this Christmas!).  I might just have to do this again and post my results later…

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Health & Fitness Friday – 4 Hour Body

Leave a comment