Health & Fitness Friday – My Favourite!

That’s JUST what I needed!

Like I said last week, you should always make yourself happy!  This week I’m going to talk about how to find awesome healthy substitutes for your junk food cravings, and how to switch up your workout regime with something you love!

HEALTH

I’m a huge fan of finding awesome snack swaps, because I don’t like to deny myself what I crave, but I don’t want to indulge in a whole bag of chips either!  I want to satisfy the craving in the healthiest way possible without sacrificing taste, because when you do that, you don’t satisfy the craving, and then you just end up doing double the damage.  So here’s what I do:

Salty (Chips)      SOLUTION: Special K Cracker Chips.  OK, seriously, healththese things are BETTER than chips.  They’re absolutely delicious and they come in a variety of classic chip flavours like Original, Sour Cream & Onion (MY FAVE), and Cheddar.  An EASY swap, and totally satisfying, better than the real thing without the guilt!  Only 80 calories in 18 chips as opposed to about 150 in regular chips, that’s cutting your calories in HALF!

Chocolate          SOLUTION:  A little bit of chocolate never hurt anyone, so for this one I kind of say “Have what you want!” But within reason of course.  Don’t want to indulge in the whole chocolate bar?  Sometimes I just have a small handful of chocolate chips.  I also REALLY like hot pudding, like pudding done on the stove, none of that instant bologna.

Candy                 SOLUTION:  Let’s face it, candy is like PURE sugar, which is not good for you no matter how you look at it.  Sometimes it’s just about the flavour, sometimes it’s about the chew.  To satisfy my candy cravings, I like to have a couple of pieces of liquorice, or a fruit by the foot, or a couple of starbursts or something.  If you want something a little more natural, roll green grapes in your favourite flavour jell-o mix and freeze them.  I love frozen grapes, and the jell-o makes you think its junk food!

Cake                    SOLUTION:  Cupcakes.  No, not really, I wish, sometimes cupcakes are even SNEAKIER than cakes!  Try this recipe out: 1 box of cake mix (I prefer chocolate) with 1 can of diet coke.  Mix until you get a thick mix and bake like you would any boxed cake.  It’s delicious, and NEVER dry.  And you don’t get all of the added calories from the eggs, milk and oil!  It’s not perfectly healthy for you, but it’s much better!

health1FITNESS

This summer I was working at a summer camp where we had big soccer games a few times.  It was really fun, and I forgot how much I used to love playing soccer.  I played for about 10 years, growing up in the GTA will do that to you.  I quit because I was always goalie or defense and in the entirety of my 10 years playing, I never got a goal 😦 . Kind of disheartening for a kid.  Anyways, after getting out there I realized how much fun it is, and I’m looking into joining an indoor women’s winter league for something fun to do.  It’s always nice to have social interaction when you work out, it will get you more excited about the prospect of going!  You might make friends by trying something new.  And if you don’t, whatever, you got a workout!  Think of a sport you love to play, or one you have always wanted to try and get out there!  Try something new!

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

